A to Z | Accessibility | Listen to this site | Website help | Contact us
 
   

Location location

Location of the month
Closed since 1983, this Grade II listed former power station was purchased for redevelopment by REO (Power Station) Ltd in December 2006. The site is now open for filming, photography and events until further notice.

Derelict former power station with 6 acre footprint within a 38 acre site, bordered by river frontage to the North, railway line and arches to the West and Battersea Park Road to the South East.  More details >>

Photos of Battersea Park

Cavernous, roofless Boiler House, complete with crane bases and exposed steel works within an approx 100,000sq ft area.

Turbine Hall A built between 1929 & 1933 with extravagant art-deco styling and Italian white/blue marble tiles. Black plinth tiling continues into the more austere Turbine Hall B, completed mostly in the mid 1940's and finished in the early 1950's. Each open plan hall is approx 40,000 sq ft and 100ft high.

Control Room A - stunning 6,000 sq ft original art deco control room complete with original switches, dials, light fittings and parquet floor.

Futuristic 1950's look B Station Switch-room, with chunky dials and stainless steel surfaces.

3 levels of open plan stripped out Cable Floors - approx 28,000sq ft each and clear ceiling height ranging from approx 9.5 - 18ft.

Base of South West Chimney - 60m high with spectacular 360 degree views (restricted numbers and weather dependent).

Approx 100,000 sq ft flat roof access above the turbine halls and annexes A & B.

4 floors of former Staff Offices within turbine hall B: dirty, paint -peeled walls and full of dust and junk.

Spacious, stylish and minimalist hotel suite mock-up, complete with white linen and mood lighting in Annexe A level 1.

Jetty, waste-ground, rubble piles, hard-standing.

Other features : Helicopter landing area by arrangement

Style: Art DecoMood and feel:
Derelict, blitz, industrial, faded grandeur, iconic, desolate, isolated, urban, cavernous, majestic, landmark, abandoned

Facilities:
Masses of on-site parking
2 x temporary marketing suites suitable for green room/make-up wardrobe (at additional cost).
415 three phase distribution panels available by arrangement.
Pedestrian access by stairs only.
No working lifts, although shafts penetrate the building at various points and can facilitate hoists.

Access: 24/7as required. Viewings strictly by appointment between 10am - 4pm Mon-Fri.
Built: 1929 - 1953

Filming credits:
Mike Leigh - Untitled 06 - 2007
Spooks 6 - Spooks Ltd - 2007

Contact:
Rebecca Beveridge
Assistant Development Manager, Treasury Holdings Properties Ltd (Acting as advisors to REO Ltd)
Tel: (+44) 20 7501 0688
DL: (+44) 20 7501 0923
Mobile: (+44) 7789 960 806
Email: rbeveridge@treasuryholdings.com

 
 
 

Top of page